away from me!

*ahem*

There’s nothing like a wonderfestival shopping spree to get you in the mood for building yet another kit. I took n extended break after the, rather draining, bubba haruhi bunny kit but I though I should do my last remaining figure kit before the summer 07 batch arrives.

And here she is!

This is the original 月面兎兵器 ミーナ (Getsumento heiki Mina) figure as seen in the live action drama 電車男 (densha otoko, or train man). I managed to obtain it at around the same time as my bunny haruhi but it took a back seat as I worked on other kits. Now, I find myself in the mood for making another model kit, but I doubt that there will be a Hermes-tan who will take this figure away from me when it’s done.

Truth be told, I was trying for a prepainted version, but there was a hiccup along the way… Nevertheless, now that I have one, I’m going to complete it. I’ll also be doing a small step-by-step guide on how I’m building this kit so those of you who are interested in making your own resin kits may find this and future posts of interest. Feel free to ask any questions on the kit.

more thoughts and the first steps after the jump.

One thing I can say about the kit thus far is that it is *extremely* well made! Guess that’s what you can expect from a fully professional job (even though my Mizuho was also done by a professional company but doesn’t come close to mina). I didn’t even have to pin the parts together for it to hold! That’s right, the figure stands like that on it’s own, without any extra glue or pins!!

Removing flash

The first thing to note is that not all the parts will fit initially. A lot of parts will have excess resin or “flash” which will prevent parts from fitting together and/or look really unsightly. the pic below has examples of flash from the mina kit.

There are many ways to remove them, You could use a modeling knife to cut the pieces off but I prefer to use a pair of model clippers which I also use to remove parts from my gundam kits. The idea is the same though. Once the majority of flash is removed (be careful not to cut too much off), then you will be left with something like this…

You should be able to see the uneven surface on the elbow where the flash was. You can also see a red line on the forearm. That line was painted by the manufacturer to note a seam line on the kit, both of which will have to be remove. (a slightly better pic of a seam line from a previous kit is provided below)

How do we remove the seam lines? Good old sanding down! This is probably the most tedious part of any model kit, having use sandpaper to remove the imperfections and uneven surfaces on a model kit before priming and painting. Problem is, it has to be done correctly, or it will really start to show up when you begin painting. There are other techniques to use as well. I use a combination of sanding using high grit (~400) sandpaper and using my modeling knife to scrape down the seam lines as my Modus Operandi.

Once all the seam lines have been removed as well as any trace of the flash marks, then you are ready for painting! But that’s another story for another time…

and for those of you wondering what happened to the knight of gold project, it’s still happening. Just very slowly!

I really hit the nail on the head when I said that this will probably be the most complex Kit I have ever built. Just to put it into context, the picture of the legs shown above has more parts than the whole of Mina put together!!!! (25 parts to 24 if anyone is interested…). It’s enough to reduce a grown man to tears. I think even seasoned veterans would break a sweat over the KoG. But look at the detail!

Progress is slow but steady. Here’s hoping I don’t screw up at a critical point, like the paint job…