*ahem*

キタ━━━(゚∀゚)━━━

They say that patience is a virtue… Sometimes, maybe not so, but in any case, Orbital Manga finally managed to get in my revolvtech Dangaioh!! (thanks guys!)

This would be my 3rd revolvtech but there was no way I was going to say no to a figure of one of my favourite mecha designs of all time!! In fact, I think this may be the only figure of this mecha! Aside from the revolvtech dangaioh and a couple of resin kits of the female pilots and possibly a fix pose version of the mecha itself which can be found in the recesses of Yahoo! Japan Auction, I don’t think there is any dangaioh merchandise out there! I would love to see a fully transformable version!! In any case, review and more pics after the jump! Click on the pics for larger versions!

The figure comes with a number of different hands to allow you to perform pretty much every attack in dangaiohs arsenal. First up, the variation of the traditional rocket punch, Boost Knuckle! I think this was also the first show which had a pilot sitting in the forearm to guide the punch! Poor Lamba…

For authenticity, you could also pull off the arm at the elbow joint, but I chose not to.

Next up we have the Dangai-beam. A red laser which shoots out from the forehead!

When I find time, I’ll try to photoshop a glow on the forehead, but you can see the red gem where the beam is emitted.

On to the more famous “finisher” moves, we have Psychic Slash (not Psychic sword like most people believe!) from episode1, which was removed from the western release for reasons unknown…

Next we have the finishing move from episode 2, the Spiral Knuckle!!

Almost a whole decade before GaoGaiGar and Hell and Heaven! ^_^

Again, the forearms can be removed for authenticity. But finally, we have the most powerful move of all, it appears in every ep and usually preceeds the actual finishing move and is used to immobilise but it’s actually strong enough to destroy the enemy on its own. It also happens to be my personal fave! The PSYCHIC WAVE!!!

Now for the review… I have to be honest, out of the 3 revolvtechs I own, (the other 2 being saber and dark saber) dangaioh is probably the weakest of them all. The swivel points for the arms are loose and don’t hold their positions very well, which makes posing a little annoying. It’s also generally harder to pose dangaioh compared to saber. I found that alot of the time, I had to remove the limb, expose the revolving joint and then pose the joint before reattaching the limb. This was especially noticeable on the hip joints to pose the legs. The shoulders were, also, not attached to the arms directly, which made it very difficult to pose the arms when compared to Saber, although, given the size of the shoulderpads, it’s somewhat understandable…

Aside from the points above, all the gripes about saber are also present in dangaioh. The legs are a little better but posing them to allow stable poses can be hard, although in this instance, mundane poses are easy but more dynamic ones are much harder. I find myself using the base included with the figure a lot more than i did with saber.

But even after all these complaints, I will openly admit that I mess around with my dangaioh far more than either Sabers. Why? Because it’s DANGAIOH dammit!!! OK, so the last bit of my review is biased. Mechanically, dangaioh is a little disappointing but being a big fan of the mecha and the show, I really don’t care…

and for my last pic, I give you the back of dangaioh, as I realised that i don’t actually take photos of the back of my figures…

And for a final bonus, Check out the original opening for the OVA! God I love this mecha…

All together now! Cross fight, cross fight!!