Sometimes, it’s good to just geek out. Do something rather silly in anticipation of getting something few others will have. Like when a certain big name producer of a big name game for a well known console comes into town to do a signing.

The Game? Metal Gear Solid 4

The guy? Hideo Kojima!

So, guess where I was this afternoon!! And check out what I got…

This is actually my second item signed by Kojima-san. The first was when he came down for the release of MGS3. I happened to be around at the time and snuck in a cheeky sign. That was fun because it was a lot more informal. Security was present but not as tight and the atmosphere was much more relaxed. Heck, I even managed to exchange a few words with the guy back then!

Compare to today, where it was done with almost military precision. The time was much more strict and only these covers could be signed, of which there were only 300 available (just don’t ask how I got mine). We were pretty much marched across and shoved through so the experience wasn’t so great. There was also the equivalent of the Beijing Olympics blue tracksuit torch guards around the guests on top of the HMV guards!!

Anyway, this was part of the MGS4 world tour. Hideo Kojima as well as 2 others came in and did their signing. Unfortunately, I was stopped before I could ask him the question which everyone (i.e. me) wanted to know: Was he making a Zone of the Enders 3??!! Damn tracksuit wannabes…

Aside from Kojima-san, there were 2 others present. One was the chief artist, Yoji Shinkawa:

And the other was a real cutie by the name of Yumi Kikuchi. Unfortunately, Yumi-chan was the last guest to sign and, thanks to the machine which kept everyone moving, I was unable to take any good shots. So you’re going to have to make do with some of the promo pics for when she was announced as the main basis for one of the “beauty and the beast” boss characters…

Damn security guards. Made me miss some good shots…

See?

The weirdest thing? I wasn’t initially going to get MGS4!!! The series lost my interest after #1. MGS2 was just bad and I don’t really enjoy 3 that much but the promise of some answers in the plot for the previous games as well as metal gear online was enough to sway me (I took part in the online beta test. Was pretty fun, even if it did take an age and a half to get login details!). Heck, stranger things have happened. The sole reason I bought MGS3 was because I got it signed by Hideo Kojima!

Not sure if I’ll get the game on release, but I will get it pretty soon.