It’s been a while since I did a simple progress post, but I have been working steadily on my cerberus project Ignis so I thought an update would be good.

And so I came to realize that the 1 thing which I was fearing regarding this kit as a major obstacle was, in truth, rather easy… It was the other parts I should have kept an eye on…

Anyways, here’s a look at how I did the base!

When I started it, I had no clue as to how I was going to get my desired effect so I simply painted the whole thing in a deep red colour. I figured it was a good base to work on. I also lightly sprayes dome pink on the tongue-like tentacle thinking that I would eventually need to distinguish it from the rest of the base. The horns were covered in masking tape as it would be easier to paint over the primer than the very dark colours which the rest of the base would eventually become.

Next I sprayed the whole think with a thin layer of purple. Hey, purple seemed appropriate for the base (in case you haven’t figured it out yet, I was totally winging this up to this point)

But there wasn’t much difference after the purple spray so I decided to go further and add some dark blue into the mix.

Getting closer, but it was still lacking something. But at this point I got stuck. So after scratching my head
and getting rather annoyed I went on a bit of a self destructive (and somewhat crazy) idea. After finding a bottle of black wash (really really thin paint basically). I thought I would liberally apply it to the base. By that time I didn’t really care how it turned out because I was just messing about and planning what I was going to do on my second try. The Black wash was a pretty damn bad idea though because it clumped together and just became a black blob which covered everything, so I decided to rub as much of it off as I could. Then something cool happened…

Yeah! now that’s more like it!!!! At this point, I thought it would be a good idea to spray on some glossy varnish onto the thing.

Looking good! Well, all that was left now were the fangs, which were covered up until now. I painted them a cream colour initially but obviously, that wouldn’t look very good against the rest of the colours. So once it was dry, I added brown wash to the fangs and repeated the process which I did with the black wash, namely copious amounts before rubbing the majority off. that gave me something really close to the final product.

But something still didn’t look quite right (and I’m not talking about how the fangs looked like something which came out of someones arse!). So after rummaging around my paint pots, I came across some blue wash and my gung ho nature kicked in again. So I did the paint and rub technique using blue wash over the tentacle and a small area of the base and also, using a bit of tissue paper and paint thinner, I rubbed off the brown wash off the tips of the larger fangs. The result was an appearance of the fangs beng (slightly) cleaner at the tips while the brown “muck” was concentrated on the base (kinda like bad teeth). Then I sprayed the whole thing with yet more glossy varnish.

So, how did it turn out?  You want to know, right? I bet you do…

So that’s how it turned out. Pretty cool, no? After that initial gung ho maneuver with the black wash, everything fell into place. The only issue I have with it at the moment is that the tentacle now is quite close in colour to the armour I’ve painted on Ignis’ leg. But I guess that’s fairly minor.

Though now, I’m very curious as to what Yamato are going to do with their PVC rendition. I don’t think my technique is really suited for mass production. Does anyone have a PVC figure with an extravagant base like this one? How do they normally do things like this?