After, what isn’t that long at all, here is the finished version Of Kagami.

The wip post can be found here:

part 1

Many thanks to the members of Dannychoo.com who helped out with some of the colour choices and assorted other observations. This could be called version 1.1 as I did have her finished last week but I was uncertain about a few points so asked around, seeing as I’m not a particularly big lucky star fan.
After collecting some of the more common ones I went back and tried several suggestions from DC.com members, which will be listed below.

One of the main points highlighted was that, in the original pic above,  was that the eyes were too dark. Personally, I though that was more to do with the lighting and the shadows which were coming up from the front hairpiece but I thought I would try using lighter colours just to see how it would turn out.

And here’s the closeup. There’s quite a dramatic difference when close up, but from a slightly larger distance, I think most people would be hard pressed to tell the difference between the pic above and the first version. But I liked the new look, it felt slightly warmer without making it look artificially bright or glowing so I stuck with it. The bow was painted in a mix of dark grey, brown and burgundy in a 2:1:1 ratio. That turned out quite close to my source materials so I was happy with it.

The original pic also showed up several errors and seam lines which I somehow managed to miss in my initial preparation job. That had to be dealt with. You can see some slight traces of the large seem line in the above pic.

The other main point, which was something I wasn’t sure about was that some people thought that the red I used for the uniform was too bright. So I tried a few variations to see if I could make it any better.

Unfortunately, it didn’t work out as well as the eyes.

I tried several different shades of red on small areas but my collection of premade red paints proved too dark to be of any use. I did get a nice shade by adding red wash to the parts, but that had the issue of making the part look glossy, not something you want on a school uniform.
I could have mixed up my own batch, but as I will be using the same colour scheme on some other kits, I didn’t want to find myself in the position of having to run out of a personal mix, esp if I forget how I mixed them, which happens from time to time. That, coupled with the fact that it’s not that bad, made me stick with the current scheme. The rest of the work was just trying to tidy up the white lines on the uniform, after several mishaps with masking previously…

One thing which surprised me about the kit was how far back she leaned. I guess it sort of made sense, since she’s supposedly brushing her hair back but it did bring in some initial balance issues, as well as just look a little weird…

I felt really REALLY dirty when doing this pic. Konatas Dad dirty (but without the “I don’t care” mentality)  but nevertheless, obligatory…

Looking back at the kit, it was actually very simple. Not quite as simple as Shirley but there weren’t any particularly hard parts. Some very annoying parts, but nothing difficult.
And it was nice that the white lines were actually etched into the detailing. But I have to wonder what possessed the original creator to sculpt the head and body as one part. The head usually comes as a separate part for a reason!!!

Other than that (and the whole masking tape fiasco with the uniform), the kit was really easy, almost pedestrian.
I doubt that the next 2 will be as easy, given that they already have more parts and one is insanely small…

And that’s one more for the portfolio. If you are interested in having a look at her in person and are around in central London, she can be seen at Orbital manga over on Upper St Martins Lane, by Covent Garden.

Also, I mentioned in my last post that Kagami is a break from my Modus Operandi. I said that she’s a character from a series I’m not a particular fan of (I don’t hate lucky star but it really didn’t grab me). In fact, I’m not that much a fan of the character herself. There’s no way I will accept her as a worthy winner of saimoe. There were lots of other characters who deserved to win.
Normally, I pick figures of characters from series I have seen and like very much or the figure itself has to grab me. Well, this kit didn’t really have any particularly arresting features either. so Why do it?
Well, this comes down to the second point. Normally, I even when I am displaying my figures in a public display like Orbital, I have an ironclad rule which states “this figure is not for sale.” Supposedly, I have had some impressive offers for my C.C and Yoko while they were under the care of Orbital comics but I have always stuck by that rule and none of my works have been for sale, but that now changes…

Yup, people are free to actually buy Kagami if they so wish. Not likely, given the current economic climate but I have always been asked why don’t I sell my completed works, so I thought I’d try it once (the next 2 will also be from lucky star and will be the same as Kagami in this regard).
If things work out then I may make more figures of characters from popular shows available for sale or possibly start doing commissions, although my personal works will remain privately owned!!!

We’ll just have to wait and see at this point. I’m not putting my hopes up, but it’ll be interesting to see how this pans out.

And on a completely separate note, There will probably be no post next week as it’s Christmas so all that is left for me to do is wish all my readers a Happy Christmas. See you afterwards. When, I’m not so sure…