I thought that, since it was the new year, I would do a post rating my best 5 shows of the last year, as well as some other bits of news. In the interest of fairness, I also included this seasons show, even if they didn’t finish. They’ll show up for the next seasons preview post as well, but some get to shine now!

So, in a sort of style like Momotato:

Bamboo Blade

Note that the shows weren’t necessarily the show of the season back when they were aired. Chalk it up to perspective.  They just stuck in my head more after a period of time.
Bad luck to True Tears, Kyouran Kazokou Nikki, Toshokan Sensou and Macademi Wasshoi, which all narrowly missed out. But they were unable to defeat the combined powers of Taiga, Ami and Minorin!!!

As for the Figures, don’t worry. I’ll be doing an update for all my completed works and purchases over the last year at a later date.

Worst Shows of 2008

Code Geass R2: Yeah, You heard me!!!
Dragonaut – The Resonance: Nuff Said
Vampire Knight: Just kill me…

Biggest disappointments

Code Geass R2: I think everyone had high hopes for this one…
Minami-ke Okawari: Never really stood a chance after the first season
Sekirei: WHY, DAMMIT??? WHY??!?!?!

Shows which I enjoyed much more than I though I would:

Clannad: Powered By Fuko and Tomoyo
Koihime Musou: So much Yuri yet manageable…
Kurenai: Murasaki!!!! The fact that she didn’t get get far in Saimoe this year just goes to prove how invalid the whole competition was this year. It was like an anime character version of the eurovision song contest!!

Other notes:

  • My experiences at the London Expo don’t make me feel like I would want to go again…
  • I don’t care if the economy is going into meltdown, I’m getting me a perfect change dangaioh!
  • I should make a new years resolution to complete my Knight of Gold, otherwise, who knows when I’ll pick it up again…
  • Hyakko is Great, but only when they focus on the side characters and not the main 4.
  • Macademi Wasshoi made me really want my own MegaNeus!!!
  • Birdy the Mighty Decode was made of quality and QUALITY!
  • Kemeko DX is way more enjoyable when animated. I put it down the the VA for Kemeko, Saito Chiwa!!!
  • I confess to liking everything about H2O footprints in the sand, except for that accursed ending!!!
  • True tears really was good, and also… GOOD ENDING!!!
  • Kyouran Kazoku Nikki was really great until the last few arcs where they went all serious and the fun dried up
  • Kimikiss was all about Mao-nee chan. I don’t even remember the names of the others!!!
  • Real Drive made me go “WTF is going on” so many times, I stopped counting
  • Persona: Trinity Soul was fine, so long as you knew nothing about P3. Where were the evokers dammit?
  • I wished I had stopped watching vampire knight
  • Everyone should go to DMC!!!
  • Toshokan Sensou confused me with it’s world history and random laws but I dug how it was like Gunparade March, an old fave of mine!
  • I’ve said it once, I’ll say it many more times!! Sky Girls>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Strike Witches.

Next up, we have the games!!

Top Games of the year

  • Valkyria Chronicles: No Contest
  • Rock Band 2: F*CK YEAH!!!
  • Devil May Cry 4: Not quite a return to the first but still very fun, and more fair than DMC3.
  • Left 4 Dead: A new kind of zombie game!!
  • Metal Gear Solid 4: If I completed it 3 times back to back, it has to be doing something right!

Almost top

  • LittleBigPlanet: Sometimes even less of a game than MGS4!
  • Odin Sphere: So beautiful…
  • Persona 3 FES: ❤ Aegis & Mitsuru!! I just wished they got rid of the honorifics. Damn Weaboo translators…
  • Gears of War 2: Horde mode with mates. That’s worth the price of the game in itself!!!

Disappointments of 08

  • Mario Kart Wii: Could they make the races any more artificially unfair?
  • Nights – Journey of dreams:  Sega rapes and defiles yet another fond childhood memory…
  • The wii in general: OK, so that’s a fairly broad answer, but not surprisingly far from the truth!! Despite what the head honchos say, they HAVE abandoned the core gamer! Even their “core” franchises have been turned into casual games!!!
  • Infinite Undiscovery: S-E make back door deals with Microsoft for exclusive stuff. Said stuff sucks!!! Is this some kind of insider sabotage?
  • Mirrors Edge: Tedium with small spots of brilliance sums it up pretty well.

Images Courtesy of Moe Imouto